top of page

School leadership team

What is SLT? 

The School Leadership Team (SLT) is a small group of parents, teachers, and administrators that meet twice a month to discuss the school’s educational direction – that is, the school’s overall educational vision, its goals and priorities, the strategies that will be used to achieve that vision and the alignment of resources to accomplish those strategies.  To be effective, the team will need to develop a culture in which there is a shared goal for all children to achieve high levels of learning and a spirit of partnership among all constituencies to achieve this goal.

One of the outcomes of this collaboration is the Comprehensive Education Plan (CEP) which is a Department of Education (DOE) requirement and sets educational policies and initiatives for the school each year.

View 2017-2018 CEP for PS/IS 180 here.

View 2018-2019 CEP School Improvement Goals here.

Each fall the Teachers Union (UFT) and PTA hold elections in the fall to determine additional SLT members in addition to the three mandatory members (principal, PTA president, and UFT chapter leader) of the SLT each year. Elementary and middle school students may also serve on the SLT.


Learn more:

2023-2024 SLT Members

  • Principal, Nickia Burgess

  • UFT Chapter Leader, Velda Cambronne

  • SLT Co-Chairpersons, Michelle Kelly & Chris Willem

  • Teacher Members

    • Nancy Finchum

    • Emily Smolinsky​ 

    • Alicia Speno

  • PTA President, Zakiyah DeGraffe-Nicholson (Parent, 1st)

  • Parent Coordinator, Maryum Opa

  • Family Representatives

    • Natalie Brasington (Parent, 3K + 2nd)

    • Carolyn Kelly (Parent, 1st + 5th)

    • Genisha Metcalf (Parent, 1st) 

    • Maddy Novich (Parent, Kindergarten + 5th)

    • Jennice Thompson (Parent, 1st) 

    • Janiya Lewis (Parent, 1st + 8th)

bottom of page